Developer Chat

Friday’s Developer chat didn’t have much hunter specific news:

Q. Will there be any new pet families added, or will we simply see more additions to existing ones?
A. We’re not sure yet whether we’re adding new pet families or not. It’s possible. Expect to see some monkeys, foxes and other new pet possibilities though!

Q: Does the Marksman mastery (Double Shot) work like the Wild Quiver talent (provide a free autoshot) or like the Lightning Overload talent (a free whatever spell you just cast)? In other words, can Double Shot fire a second Chimera Shot?
A: Double Shot is a half-strength autoshot. Wild Quiver will increase the damage of the autoshot to 60-70% (or something similar). Lightning Overload (the talent) will likewise increase the magnitude of the Elemental Overload mechanic.

Meh, I had figured that double shot was just based on autoshot and was similar to Wild Quiver. No way they’d let us do something cool like chain together kill shot (man, that woulda been fun: Kill Shot > Readiness > Kill Shot > (Double Shot) Kill Shot). Just as well, we’d likely not have the focus to pull it off anyway 😉

On a non hunting note, I’d like to take a moment to show my support for those druids unhappy with the announced change to Tree of Life.

I’ve stated before that I am a big fan of druids and am constantly amazed at seeing what a well played druid can do. I may not fully understand the class, but having a “shapeshift” ability (which is a pretty core mechanic of the class) become a cooldown makes absolutely no sense to me. I mean if bear, cat, and chicken aren’t “cooldowns”, why would tree be? Don’t get me wrong, I read Blizzard’s justification that they felt it was unfair to trees to give up utility in order to heal well, but, in my opinion, that argument just doesn’t hold much water. I mean a bear or cat gives up utility to be a bear (he can’t cast spells without shifting, right?) Forgive me if my analogies are unsound, and druids correct me if I’m wrong, like I said, my knowledge of what you all can and cannot do is pretty limited. The whole change to the tree mechanic just sounds so weird to me though. For those opposed to the change, this is one hunter who’s got yer back, mon!

Taz’Dingo!

– Lash

~ by Lashaah on April 17, 2010.

2 Responses to “Developer Chat”

  1. I was just hoping that our Mastery wasn’t going to be a talent we already have. Hell, it’s a WORSE version of Wild Quiver – Wild Quiver is 80% of a normal Auto.

Leave a comment