Whew!

Evidently, the holiday gnomes didn’t want me to do much of anything productive over the past couple of weeks, mon. I have been battling strange technical demons in the realm of bits, bytes, and pixels. It was a fierce battle but I believe (and hope) I have vanquished these nefarious culprits and things should be returning to normal.

Last week I picked up Zod’s Repeating Longbow. I was pretty excited. I love bows, we trolls have the best bow shooting animation in game, and this bow had  a neat twist. So much promise..


There’s been some discussion on various forums (usually about the lack of Crit, RAP, or ArP) and I’ll leave the theorycrafting to smarter hunters than myself. I will just mention what I and a few other hunters have noticed:

  1. The proc has no internal cooldown (or a very short one).
  2. The proc can activate off of special ranged attacks (Explosive Shot, Aimed Shot, Chimera Shot, etc).
  3. The proc is taking into account ammo, Ranged Attack Power, etc.
  4. The proc CAN crit, respects your normal ranged crit rate, and counts as a ranged special (meaning it enjoys bonuses from Mortal Shots).

It has nice damage and speed and awesome flavor text! In the immortal words of  Ferris Bueller, “It is so choice. If you have the means, I highly recommend picking one up.”

EDIT: Upon further reading, I seem to be wrong at the moment (hey! It’s happened before!) Seems like this bow is bugged: Official Forum Report and EJ Report. I tested it and sadly I agree. Although I am not seeing as dramatic difference in number of autoshots as some of those guys; Not seeing Zod’s proc as much – RNG is random I guess.

*Sigh* Goddamit!

EDIT2: And here it is – Ghostcrawler’s reply

UPDATE: Wooohoooo and Sweet! Guess we’ll see tomorrow!

I’d also like to take a moment to thank whoever at Blizzard decided to include Iceblade Arrows in this patch; So amazingly cheap to craft! Once one of our engineers had the recipe, I had him make about a gozillion out of the 5 stacks of eternal shadow I had in my miner’s bank. I then proceeded to put up stacks of them in the auction house for 10 gold each (they were selling for 60ish gold a stack at the time) because every hunter deserves access to the best ammo he can find and fuck those price gougers out to take advantage of us. I only sold maybe 2 stacks before the other sellers caught on, but money wasn’t my goal anyway and now arrows are reasonably priced on my server.

Hope you all had a nice holiday and got all the gifts you wanted, mon!

Taz’Dingo!

– Lash

~ by Lashaah on December 29, 2009.

5 Responses to “Whew!”

  1. Good to see you’re still deflating economies where ever you go.

  2. Kneel before Zod!

  3. Yay for a fix!

Leave a Reply

 
