The great ArP debate, mon – Part 2

I mentioned awhile back that I was playing around with an ArP Marks build. Well, after about a month and half, I’ve decided that it’s not for me.

One, I didn’t see any huge DPS increase over a standard pro-agility setup. Maybe I suck at stutter-stepping to make sure I don’t miss any autoshots (I swear, I think I’ve missed much of the design of ICC so far just from staring at my swing timer bar.)

Two, I missed my critting more than just hitting. I also miss rolling piercing shots. Again, maybe I’m missing something, but I think this is an overlooked source of damage with a build focusing on ArP.

Three, I missed the flexibility of making agility my most-sough-after stat. There have been a few times over the past month or so where I’ve thought that a survival build would be more productive (all those semi-wasted ArP gems make me sad!).

And, after playing around with the spreadsheet, I think I may be going back to a survival spec. According to said spreadsheet, this build is a 200ish DPS increase over my current Marks setup. It’s still preliminary “theorycraft” with no real raid testing, but I think I’m going to give it a go tonight in our 10 man to try to relearn survival (I am so out of practice!) to see how it goes.

I guess I’ll be trading staring at a swing timer for staring at a sniper training timer! Wish me luck!

Taz’Dingo!

– Lash

EDIT: I ended up going with this build in last night’s 10 man. Ah, explosive shot.. how I’ve missed you.

Also, I’m fully aware that to maximize DPS I still have to watch the swing timer and stutter step!

~ by Lashaah on December 17, 2009.

One Response to “The great ArP debate, mon – Part 2”

  1. I have nothing to add to this conversation! Um…wait, maybe I can! MOAR SPELLPOWER. Arcane Shot Ho!

    (this is why I can’t play DPS. I like my simple druid stats :))

Leave a Reply

 
